Journal of Creative Industries and Cultural Studies

JOCIS is a Scientific Journal created by MediaXXI/ Formalpress in partnership with several international entities, such as International Media Management Academic Association (IMMAA), and also with the collaboration of the Centre for Research in Communication, Information and Digital Culture (CIC. Digital) of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities of the University of Porto and the Faculty of Social and Human Sciences of the University Nova of Lisbon.

Co-directed by Terry Flew and Paulo Faustino, JOCIS is created, designed and peer-reviewed by a highly qualified international team of academic researchers and publishers with years of experience. You can submit articles on the fields of Creative and Cultural Industries, Arts and Cultural Economy, Marketing in Creative and Cultural Industries, Creative and Cultural Industries Management, Communication, Visual Communication and Interactive Media, Design and Social Innovation, Culture and Development, Public Policies, Creative Clusters, Entrepreneurship and Cultural Events.

If you wish to discuss an article prior to submission, or if you have any query, please reach us through this e-mail:

Paulo Faustino


JOCIS está indexado em:
DOAJ, EBSCOhost, ERIH Plus, e-LIS, Dialnet, Latindex, Google Scholar Citations, MIAR e Crossref

Editorial Board

Paulo Faustino , Porto University, Portugal.

Eli Noam , Columbia University, USA.

Paul Clemenz Murschetz , Berlin University of Digital Sciences, Germany.

Elena Vartanova , Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia.

Tena Peri Perišin , University of Zagreb, Croatia.

Mónica Herrero , Navarra University, Spain.

Seongcheol Kim , Korea University, South Korea.

Steve Wildman , Michigan State University, USA.

John Lavine , Northwestern University, USA.

Christian Scholz , Saarland University, Germany.

Francisco Campos , Santiago de Compostela University, Spain.

Alan Albarran , North Texas University, USA.

Rui Cádima , NOVA University Lisbon, Portugal.

Robert Picard , Oxford University, UK.

Sónia Virgínia , State University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Jorge Pedro Sousa , University Fernando Pessoa, Portugal.

Min Hang , Tsinghua University, China.

Alfonso Tabernero , Navarra University, Spain.

Gregory Lowe , Northwestern University in Qatar, Qatar.

Georgios Tsourvakas , Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece.

Armando Malheiro , Porto University, Portugal.

Biser Zlatanov , Sofia University, Bulgaria.

Cinzia Dal Zotto , Neuchatêl University, Switzerland.

Francisco Belda , Sao Paulo State University, Brazil.

Terry Flew , Queensland University of Technology, Australia.

Dominique Bourgeois , Fribourg University, Switzerland.

António Machuco , Porto University, Portugal.

Kiyoshi Nakamura , Waseda University, Japan.

José Alvarez , Rey Juan Carlos University, Spain.

José Cavaleiro , Lisbon Mass Media School, Portugal.

Patrick Badillo , University of Geneva, Switzerland.

Yu-Li Liu , National Chengchi University, Taiwan.

Franco Papandrea  , University of Canberra, Australia.

Amit Schejter  , Penn State University, USA.

George Sylvie  , University of Texas, USA.

Dwayne Winseck  , Carleton University, Canada.

Petros Iosifidis  , Westminster University, UK.

John Oliver  , Bournemouth University, UK.

Marialva Barbosa , Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Ilya Kiriya , National Research University Higher School of Economics, Russia.

Hans van Kranenburg , Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands.

Mark Deuze , Amsterdam University, Netherlands.

Guillermo Mastrini , National University of Quilmes, Argentina.

Nico Carpentier , Vrije Universiteit Brussel–Free University of Brussels, Belgium.

Janet Wasko , Oregon University, USA.

Robert Defillippi , Suffolk University, USA.

José Simões , Saint Joseph University, China.

Antonio Hohlfeldt , Pontifice University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil.

Erik Hitters , Rotterdam University, Netherlands.

Adilson Cabral , Fluminense University, Brazil.

Mike Friedrichsen , Humboldt University, Germany.

Cinzia Colapinto , Venice University, Italy.

Jean Baptist Lesourd , University of Aix – Marseille, France.

Francisco Rojano , Málaga University, Spain.

Marco Gambaro , Milan University, Italy.

Stavros Georgiades , Frederick University, Cyprus.

Richard Gershon , Western Michigan University, USA.

Castulus Kolo , Macromedia University of Applied Sciences of Stuttgart, Germany.

Zvezdan Vukanovic , Abu Dhabi University, Emirates.

Anna Jupowicz-Ginalska , Warsaw University, Poland.

Kamila Augustyn ,  Wroclaw University, Poland.

Harald Rau , Ostfalia University, Germany.

Marlen Komorowski , Cardiff University, UK.

Maria Michalis , University of Westminster, UK.

Ingo Knuth , HMKW – University of Applied Sciences for Media, Communication and Business, Germany.

Tristan Mattelart , University of Paris 8, France.

Anthony Okoeguale , Pan-Atlantic University, Nigeria.

Heidi Philipsen , University of Southern Denmark.

Idowu Olatunji , Tai Solarin University of Education, Nigeria.

Amelie Lu , City University of Macau, China.

Ethics policies

MediaXXI/ Formalpress is against any type of fraudulent practice and adheres to the guidelines and recommendations of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) and the Council of Science Editors (CSE).

Submission of a manuscript for consideration and publication by JOCIS implies that the authors agree to grant the journal first publication rights over the work and for the work to be published under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Copyright of the article published is retained by the author(s).

ISSN: 2184-0466
e-ISSN: 2795-5540

This is an open access journal which means that all content is freely available without charge to the user or his/her institution. Users are allowed to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author. This is in accordance with the BOAI definition of open access.